Check Point

Hi All,

I hope this blog finds you in the process of mastering what you identified you were destined for last time I posted. Even if you are still in the process of seeking out what you are to master you have taken a step, but let’s not let it stop there.

I don’t have a whole lot to say today, but I just wanted to share my experiences with you all since I have been praying and seeking for focus and direction in my own life. I have learned a few things, the number one being: Mastery is not perfection! What I mean by this is that just because you are a master at something it does not mean that there will not be challenges. As you become more focused, more detail oriented, and more aware of the specifics it will cause you to beat yourself up when you mess up or you miss something. These hang ups can be discouraging, but i encourage anyone who gets knocked down to use that feeling of disappointment in yourself to fuel your fire. While you are feeling inferior or ready to quit because you don’t think you are where you need to be or you have not perfected your craft in the way you wanted to remember you are wasting time you could be using to get further.

The goal I have set for myself is not perfection. It is to be better than I was the day before. Giving my all each and every day will get me to where I need to be. I have to tell myself not to go back and look in that rearview mirror, because I know it is easy to get caught up in self-doubt, self-pity, and feelings of wanting to give up.

Let me just dissect this concept a little more before I close, I looked up the word mastery and the synonyms and they are: mastership,domination, skill ,control, and proficiency. None of them say perfection. So please stay the course and do the best you can with what you have and keep pushing forward. Knowing that obstacles, challenges, distractions, and issues are awaiting on your climb up the mountain, but know you have an awesome ally in your corner helping you climb and these things that we look at as negative are helping you build the muscle that will sustain you on your climb.

Love You All

SJM

Leave a comment